

Tamara Finkelstein Director, Public Services Group



What is the function of the Treasury?

The Treasury is the UK's economics and finance ministry



Main priorities

- Reduce the structural deficit in a fair and efficient way
- Secure an economy that is more resilient and more balanced between private and public sectors and between regions
- 3. Reform the regulatory framework for the financial sector to avoid future financial crises



Executive Management Board



Nick Macpherson Permanent Secretary



John Kingma

Second Permanent Secretary



Sharon White Director General Public Spending



Dave Ramsden Director General Chief Economic Adviser



Alison Cottrell Director Corporate Services

Vacant Director General

Tax and Welfare



James Bowler Director Strategy, Planning and Budget



Julian Kelly Group Director Finance and Commercial



Second Permanent Secretary



Responsible for defining forward strategy, work programme,

the Budget, and short-term priority policy projects

Strategy, Planning and Budget

Deputy Directors:

Matthew Toombs

Jenny Bates

Michael Ellam Director General International and EU

James Bowler

Budget & Tax Strategy

Strategy, Planning & Projects

Director



Jonathan Taylor Director General Financial Services

Enabling the Treasury to deliver by managing and developing corporate policies and processes, including correspondences and public enquiries, HR. estates. IT. domestic finances and commercial activities, as well as the implementation of the departmental change programmes

Deputy Directors:

Sarah Tebbutt Mike Long Liz Corrin Karen Delafield Kavalneer Walia Sarah Thompson

Head of Unit:

Monica Ennis

Corporate Centre Julian Kelly, and Alison Cottrell. Group Directors

Corporate Centre Change & Management Group Human Resources Group Finance Joint Workplace Solutions Treasury Group Commercial Treasury Group Internal Audit

Correspondence & Information Rights

Nick Macpherson, Permanent Secretary

Responsible for decision making, coordination and management of the department and communications with media and the public

Deputy Directors:

Ministerial and Communications

Ministerial Support Beth Russell Jonathan Black Communications

International and FU

Peter Curwen. Director (Europe) Shona Riach. Director (International Finance)

Responsible for advancing the UK's economic and financial interests

Deputy Directors:

Vanessa MacDougall Global Economics, Co-ordination & Strategy Vacant Development Finance, Climate & Energy Mikael Down Sanctions & Counter Illicit Finance Mike Glycopantis European Union Finances Hannah Robinson European Institutions & Policy Richard Salt European Economic Policy

Financial Stability

Mridul Heade. Director

Responsible for ongoing stability issues and resolution of financial interventions

Deputy Directors:

David Lunn Contingency Planning Sophie Dean ICB Implementation Kumar Iyer Interventions Management Simon Girdlestone Secretariat & Projects

Fronomics

Dave Ramsden Director General

Responsible for UK economic analysis, surveillance, and professionalism

Deputy Directors:

Andrew Kina Macroeconomic Co-ordination & Strategy Nick Vaughan Macroeconomic Prospects **Andrew Gurney** Macroeconomic Analysis Andrew Ross Government Economic & Social Research

Financial Services

Alison Cottrell

Responsible for policy with respect to financial services

Deputy Directors:

Frank Carson Insurance & Savings Gwyneth Nurse Banking & Credit

Head of Unit:

Edward Whiting Financial Regulation Strategy

Financial Regulations and Market Services

Nikhil Rathi Director

Responsible for the financial services regulatory framework and for financial markets policy issues

Deputy Directors:

Martina Garcia Banking & Financial Sector Analysis Richard Knox Securities & Markets Financial Services Strategy William Brandon

Fiscal

James Richardson

Responsible for fiscal strategy, funding and debt management, and monitoring fiscal position

Deputy Directors:

Elizabeth Dymond Exchequer Funds & Accounts Alex Skinner Fiscal Policy & Statistics Clare Roberts Debt & Reserves Management Donna Leong Intervention Strategy & Markets

Business and International Tax

Mike Williams. Director

Responsible for business tax, indirect taxes and international tax

Deputy Directors:

Steven Effingham VAT & International Excise Giles Thomson Equitable Life & Property Tax Jon Sherman Corporate Taxation Helen Dickinson Environment & Transport Tax Excise & Enterprise Tax Sue Catchpole Vacant International Tax

Personal Tax, Welfare and Pensions

Indra Morris, Director

Responsible for personal tax, welfare, labour market and HMRC/DWP expenditure, pensions and savings

Deputy Directors:

Dan York-Smith Personal Taxation Harriet Wallace Labour Markets & Distributional Analysis Charlotte Clarke Pensions & Savings Stuart Glassborow Welfare, Spending & Reform Tax Administration: Spending & Reform Cervs Morgan

Public Spending

Julian Kelly. Director

Responsible for public spending control, and embedding good governance and financial management across government

Deputy Directors:

Jean-Christophe Gray General Expenditure Policy Richard Brown Workforce, Pay & Pensions Eleanor Taylor Public Service Pension Reform Karen Sanderson Government Financial Reporting Heidi Adcock Office of Head of Government Finance Profession

Enterprise and Growth

Jeremy Pocklington, Director, Enterprise & Growth Geoffrey Spence, Chief Executive. Infrastructure UK

Responsible for growth-related policy and expenditure; includes infrastructure strategy and delivery, and public private partnerships (PPP)

Deputy Directors:

Growth & Productivity John Russell Conrad Smewing Corporate Finance, Business, Innovation & Skills Jonathan Mills Energy, Environment & Agriculture Dan Micklethwaite Transport Regulation & Competition

Heads of Infrastructure Teams:

Stephen Dance Infrastructure Delivery Doug Segars Infrastructure Finance Andrew West Operational PFI Savings James Ballingall Assurance & International Jo Fox Public Private Partnerships Policy

Treasury Legal Advisors

Stephen Parker, Director

Responsible for provision of advisory and other legal services across the Treasury and certain other agencies and departments

Deputy Directors:

Gareth Evans Public Finances, Pensions & General Insurance, Markets & Mutuals Phinella Henderson Rebecca Lane Financial Stability & Financial Services & Markets Bill

Brett Welch Banking & Financial Crime

> **Public Services** Tamara Finkelstein and Lindsey Fussell Directors

Responsible for oversight of major public service expenditure

Deputy Directors:

Education, Children & Culture Tony Foot Paul Doyle **Devolved Countries** Matthew Style Health Lindsey Whyte Local Government **David Silk** Housing & Planning Charlie Pate Home & Legal Chris Wobschall Internal Audit & OSCAR Paula Diggle Treasury Officer of Accounts Lewis Neal Defence, Diplomacy & Intelligence